How do you know what to do with your life?

Recently I reached a dead end. I have to choose what I want to do with my future in what, 2 weeks?

The thing is I had everything planned out. I would pursue Management in the Hospitality Industry and this is the career path I chose at only 15. I worked really hard for the next 4 years and I got myself in the best Hospitality School in the world. I felt extremely proud. However, now that I am almost 19 and ready to start university, I have second thoughts if this is the career I really want to pursue. Going to this university means moving away from home, invest a lot of money in education but that would not be the problem. The problem is, what do I really want to do? What will make me happy?

I find it hard to choose what to do with the rest of your life at a young age, because life happens and in a matter of seconds you could be someone else in a industry or domain you didn’t even think you could be. And yet, how do you know what you want to do, how do you know that you will be happy or successful? You can take a risk and end up being happy or you can take a risk and end up regretting.

I thought I had everything planned out. I thought this is what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. The truth be told  I didn’t had much options. My parents choose this for me, and I liked it I cannot complain. But now thinking of it, I don’t know what I want to do, I don’t even know who I am entirely, yet choose a career for the next I don’t know how many years.

How do you know this is the thing you want to do?

 

One thought on “How do you know what to do with your life?

Add yours

  1. I think you have to take a minute and think of everything you would like to do if it werent for the money, just for yourself. This is how I would do it, but I have more time to decide, haha.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

