Future…?

It always occurred to me why we, at such fragile ages, have to chose our own future. And don’t get me wrong, we have to chose and make our own future, but why so early? At the age of 16 most young adults already have to know what’s what, where they want to go, what they want to specialize on, which is crazy. Because in the mean time, our parents say ” you are not mature enough”,  “you can’t handle this” yet they want us to chose a career path we are definitely  not ready for.  We can’t get a tattoo until we are 18 but we have to apply to all universities even earlier than that. ” You will regret this tattoo later” but why can’t I regret a future I wasn’t even sure I wanted? ” And there comes the question  “What do you want to do when you grow up ?” oh, easy: ” I want to be a doctor” ” and why is that?” “You are payed very well “. That is what we have come to. Money. We chose our future based on the material needs it can provide. And what if I am passionate about writing, or about dancing, should I go on living ” my dream” or should I include it on the list of “hobbies”?

I honestly don’t think it’s fair. We can’t legally drink until we are 18, we can’t smoke, we can’t have sex, we can’t do a lot of things, but we can chose a profession that will stick with us for the rest of our lives.  We should all sort out our priorities and come to the conclusion that maybe, we will never be mature enough for what seems to be the future.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

